ProbeTalk.com Forums

ProbeTalk.com Forums (https://forums.probetalk.com/index.php)
-   A-Team (https://forums.probetalk.com/forumdisplay.php?f=133)
-   -   ECU - Swap... (https://forums.probetalk.com/showthread.php?t=1701147521)

Adema814 March 7th, 2005 07:18 PM

ECU - Swap...
 
K so im going to the tranny swap in my car over spring break.. i have read this before that you do need to put in the 5spd ecu and then i have heard that you dont need to put one in. So i was just wondering what exactly i have to do, and are they the same effects or performance if u leave the atx ecu in?

Justin

ThirdString March 7th, 2005 08:11 PM

In terms of actual driveablility, I am driving a '95 that has the old atx ECU right now. But my gas mileage is down to 20 versus the 24 it was getting with the atx. I am expecting close to 30 once I get my mtx ecu, but I can't tell you for sure yet.

moz_21 May 16th, 2005 01:49 PM

:

In terms of actual driveablility, I am driving a '95 that has the old atx ECU right now. But my gas mileage is down to 20 versus the 24 it was getting with the atx. I am expecting close to 30 once I get my mtx ecu, but I can't tell you for sure yet.

Well I'm curious to the results. I have a '95 ATX that is getting an MTX put in this week. The '95 ATX ECU is the same part number as the MTX version (KL89), but I guess if I get poor fuel mileage, I'll need the MTX version too...

Kanuk93GT May 16th, 2005 04:01 PM

I never heard that ecu meant anything for fuel mileage? is this true?

pgt4speed May 19th, 2005 10:49 PM

93 PGT
ATX>>MTX
KLZE
ATX ECU and TCM

172.8whp 161.1wtq
Best MPG is 29 on the freeway
City average is 21-24 depending on my mood :eg:

You do not need the ATX ECU, and there will not be much(if any) in the way of performance loss.

moz_21 July 12th, 2005 10:24 PM

:

93 PGT
ATX>>MTX
KLZE
ATX ECU and TCM

172.8whp 161.1wtq
Best MPG is 29 on the freeway
City average is 21-24 depending on my mood :eg:

You do not need the ATX ECU, and there will not be much(if any) in the way of performance loss.

I've found out that there is a separate TCM for the 95's. I was under the impression that it was only on the 93's but it must be for 93 through 95. I disconnected that and got rid of the binking O/D light. My fuel mileage is 24-25 MPG so about the same. It might be different on the freeway as rpm's run at like 4000. Big power difference too.

that_boy_alex May 23rd, 2016 02:45 PM

ECU Swap 95 probe gt to obd 2
 
ok so lol this is old but this will be my first car, 95 probe gt although I have never seen this car before my dad has it up at his house and he is doing work on it. Hopefully this will be my first car if it passes my moms inspection and one of those is a obd 2 tracker or something like that. I know there are people who change out there ecu's for millenia ecu's for the maf swap...but im not planning on doing so. Is there a way maybe if i can get a 96 ecu onto a 95 without the check engine light? Is there a harness I need to use?

blackwidow80 January 15th, 2017 06:51 AM

The ecu are the same in 95 for the atx and mtx. the atx has a seperate computer for the tranny. I did a atx to mtx on my 95 the ecu are the same. i ran it for years no problems i just removed the od light bulb. only way around that is too swap out the whole engine harnness. i averaged around 24mpg but i beat the shit out of it. I recently did the maf swap and couldnt have done it sooner such a huge gain in performance. you cant use a 96 ecu cause its obd2 you would have to swap out an entire engine harness, dash harness, add 2 more o2 sensors and some other small things def not worth it.

fordprobegt67 January 20th, 2017 08:01 PM

im pretty sure you do not have to swap the dash harness only the Engine bay ECU harness has to be changed. that was the only harness i swapped out when i went from the Auto 4cyl to a 5 speed v6. The wiring harness from a mazda mx6 or 626 is different i had one and tried that with my swap and it had a few different connectors for the dash harnessto connect to the engine ecu harness

BLUEnoEQ January 21st, 2017 11:10 AM

First off, little bit of an old thread. Why would you waste time swapping in the wrong ecu the hard way. Maf swap is easy, feels smoother and more powerful, and has the OBDII connector for "big mother."