Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Megasquirt on 2.0

Hello all,

I am in the process of making a plug and play harness for a 96 Probe 2.0. I have lots of Megasquirt experience on VWs, Subarus Mazdas, and Hondas, but this is my first venture into Ford.

I got a stripped down pin out of the ECM side of things and I took apart a spare ECM to get the connector from it. I see a few things are missing that I normally want. I wonder if you can answer some of my questions.

1) Ignition on the Probe is a Coil with what looks like its own igniter. Great! but is this one compatible with MS2extra? Can I wire it in to the ECM Pin out and be good? Or should I play it safe and mod the board for direct fire?

2) CKP appears to only have 2 pins on the ECM. OK. One is signal the other is Shield. Great. Question is, is this right? Which is which? And I am praying this thing is a 36-1 wheel with a 0* crank angle?

3) I see a signal return on the ECM, but that looks like it is for TPS only. Which pins are signal return for IAT and CTS? Are they the same or a different grounding pin? This is my least concern as its not exactly hard to wire this one.

Oh and just a random thought, whats the compression ratio on these suckers?

Thanks for your help!

It appears this one uses a 36-1 crank trigger with a VR sensor and direct coil control. Alldata states that the ignition control module is built into the ECU - in other words, set up your board for direct fire.
    Matt at DIYAutoTune.com
    My PM box fills up fast - it's much better to email me at websales@diyautotune.com

Comment

Excellent. Got the rest figured out. Signal return on the ECM will handled all sensors.

This new harness i have for MS from DIY Autotune has 2 wires in it now. Makes life easy. (insert back in my day joke).