Project Casper - KL Rx7

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Project Casper - KL Rx7

I was going to just unveil this at completion but being as I started this in 2012 I figure I could do with some motivation!

The car was acquired for £800 as a rolling chassis listed in a local car forum. It had no engine, no bonnet, no seats, surface rust, no spoiler and a badly fitting bumper. The previous owner needed to rebuild the engine but lost interest. It was yet another Rx-7 ready for breaking and scrapping.

How it all began... bonnet not included
    About me

I'm a mature student, on a very slim budget. I've been modifying Mx-3s for years, going through many iterations:

KLZE 2.5 swap into 1.8 v6
    KLZE supercharged with clutched M62 Eaton
    KLZE on T595 throttle bodies
    KLDE with t3t4 turbo at 291bhp
    B5ZE on evo 8 16g turbo

I've loved Rx-7s since I first saw them, and found them incredibly exotic in appearance.
    Why v6

Engine budget - I can't throw 3k into buying a rotary, having it rebuilt and buying all the ancillaries. I love the rotary engine but it's just not for me right now.
    Fuel economy - from reading forums and talking to owners it seems sub 20mpg is realistic. It's a quick performance car but that's thirsty. I aim for 30+mpg mixed driving at the same power levels.
    The challenge - this is as important as the first point. I've always liked doing my own thing. I prefer to see things that aren't normally done. Bolt on modifying is fun and easy, but it doesn't provide the challenge or push your creative requisites.

Why KL Mazda

Lightweight, compact V6.
    Made by Mazda. I like to approach this with a mindset of a V6 option by Mazda.
    Bonnet (hood ) clearance.
    Available in 200hp naturally aspirated form.
    Proven performance 291bhp with an eBay £140 turbo and £120 scrapyard engine with 0.5 bar from my Mx-3 days
    I have a lot of parts and spare blocks already and the knowledge of the engine.