Advertise with ProbeTalk - click here to find out how!



Advertise with ProbeTalk - click here to find out how!
Advertise with ProbeTalk - click here to find out how!

ProbeTalk.com Forums

Go Back   ProbeTalk.com Forums > Probe Owners Clubs > A-Team

A-Team If you have an ATX, and if you can find them, maybe you can hire the A-Team.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old March 7th, 2005, 07:18 PM   #1
Adema814
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Loudonville Ohio
Posts: 90
ECU - Swap...

K so im going to the tranny swap in my car over spring break.. i have read this before that you do need to put in the 5spd ecu and then i have heard that you dont need to put one in. So i was just wondering what exactly i have to do, and are they the same effects or performance if u leave the atx ecu in?

Justin
Adema814 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2005, 08:11 PM   #2
ThirdString
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: S Kansas City
Age: 38
Posts: 286
In terms of actual driveablility, I am driving a '95 that has the old atx ECU right now. But my gas mileage is down to 20 versus the 24 it was getting with the atx. I am expecting close to 30 once I get my mtx ecu, but I can't tell you for sure yet.
ThirdString is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2005, 02:49 PM   #3
moz_21
PT Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: A rinky dink town in southern MN
Posts: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThirdString
In terms of actual driveablility, I am driving a '95 that has the old atx ECU right now. But my gas mileage is down to 20 versus the 24 it was getting with the atx. I am expecting close to 30 once I get my mtx ecu, but I can't tell you for sure yet.
Well I'm curious to the results. I have a '95 ATX that is getting an MTX put in this week. The '95 ATX ECU is the same part number as the MTX version (KL89), but I guess if I get poor fuel mileage, I'll need the MTX version too...
__________________
1995 Probe GT, Laser Red Tinted Metallic, ATX-->MTX swap, SouthBend OFE/MX6 FW, RR-Racing STS, Ebay CAI w/AEM Dryflow, Hotshot headers, custom 2.5" catback, Eibach springs, Tokico Illuminas, 16MM swaybar, Kumho Extaca SPTs, Hella H4 conv.
Soon to be: 93 PGT w/ 95 wiring, Electric Blue Metallic w/ white GTS stripes, KLZE curve neck w/ Fidanza plust most of the above parts...
moz_21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2005, 05:01 PM   #4
Kanuk93GT
Guest
 
Kanuk93GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Springfield Tennessee
Age: 31
Posts: 2,660
I never heard that ecu meant anything for fuel mileage? is this true?
Kanuk93GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2005, 11:49 PM   #5
pgt4speed
POC Mod
 
pgt4speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Where awesome people live, aka Detroit
Age: 37
Posts: 13,148
93 PGT
ATX>>MTX
KLZE
ATX ECU and TCM

172.8whp 161.1wtq
Best MPG is 29 on the freeway
City average is 21-24 depending on my mood

You do not need the ATX ECU, and there will not be much(if any) in the way of performance loss.
__________________
Sandon Lettieri
1993 Probe GT - KLZE & Stuff - 172whp / 161wtq - 146k
2013 Focus ST - Stock & Stuff - 251whp / 290wtq - 142k
pgt4speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2005, 11:24 PM   #6
moz_21
PT Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: A rinky dink town in southern MN
Posts: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgt4speed
93 PGT
ATX>>MTX
KLZE
ATX ECU and TCM

172.8whp 161.1wtq
Best MPG is 29 on the freeway
City average is 21-24 depending on my mood

You do not need the ATX ECU, and there will not be much(if any) in the way of performance loss.
I've found out that there is a separate TCM for the 95's. I was under the impression that it was only on the 93's but it must be for 93 through 95. I disconnected that and got rid of the binking O/D light. My fuel mileage is 24-25 MPG so about the same. It might be different on the freeway as rpm's run at like 4000. Big power difference too.
__________________
1995 Probe GT, Laser Red Tinted Metallic, ATX-->MTX swap, SouthBend OFE/MX6 FW, RR-Racing STS, Ebay CAI w/AEM Dryflow, Hotshot headers, custom 2.5" catback, Eibach springs, Tokico Illuminas, 16MM swaybar, Kumho Extaca SPTs, Hella H4 conv.
Soon to be: 93 PGT w/ 95 wiring, Electric Blue Metallic w/ white GTS stripes, KLZE curve neck w/ Fidanza plust most of the above parts...
moz_21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2016, 03:45 PM   #7
that_boy_alex
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1
ECU Swap 95 probe gt to obd 2

ok so lol this is old but this will be my first car, 95 probe gt although I have never seen this car before my dad has it up at his house and he is doing work on it. Hopefully this will be my first car if it passes my moms inspection and one of those is a obd 2 tracker or something like that. I know there are people who change out there ecu's for millenia ecu's for the maf swap...but im not planning on doing so. Is there a way maybe if i can get a 96 ecu onto a 95 without the check engine light? Is there a harness I need to use?
that_boy_alex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2017, 06:51 AM   #8
blackwidow80
Donating Member
 
blackwidow80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: HILLSDALE MICHIGAN
Age: 37
Posts: 808
The ecu are the same in 95 for the atx and mtx. the atx has a seperate computer for the tranny. I did a atx to mtx on my 95 the ecu are the same. i ran it for years no problems i just removed the od light bulb. only way around that is too swap out the whole engine harnness. i averaged around 24mpg but i beat the shit out of it. I recently did the maf swap and couldnt have done it sooner such a huge gain in performance. you cant use a 96 ecu cause its obd2 you would have to swap out an entire engine harness, dash harness, add 2 more o2 sensors and some other small things def not worth it.
__________________
THE ONLY REASON I'M DRIVING THIS FAST IS BECAUSE I REALLY HAVE TO POOP
blackwidow80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2017, 08:01 PM   #9
fordprobegt67
Supercharged Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Manchester, IN
Age: 32
Posts: 1,170
im pretty sure you do not have to swap the dash harness only the Engine bay ECU harness has to be changed. that was the only harness i swapped out when i went from the Auto 4cyl to a 5 speed v6. The wiring harness from a mazda mx6 or 626 is different i had one and tried that with my swap and it had a few different connectors for the dash harnessto connect to the engine ecu harness
__________________
95 PGT Current project
95 PSE swapped in 93 KL...Headers.... K&N cold Air.... Gutted Caged and ready for Dirt
01 Seabring Convert 01 Neon Rims With Spacers..
99 Olds Cutlas DD
fordprobegt67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2017, 11:10 AM   #10
BLUEnoEQ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,062
First off, little bit of an old thread. Why would you waste time swapping in the wrong ecu the hard way. Maf swap is easy, feels smoother and more powerful, and has the OBDII connector for "big mother."
__________________
Probe out for Harambe
94 PGT KLZE
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BLUEnoEQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ProbeTalk.com is not affiliated in any way with the Ford Motor Company, the Mazda Motor Corporation, or any subsidiaries of either company.
All views and opinions expressed on this message board are those of the author and not the owners of ProbeTalk.com.