Advertise with ProbeTalk - click here to find out how!



Advertise with ProbeTalk - click here to find out how!
Advertise with ProbeTalk - click here to find out how!

ProbeTalk.com Forums

Go Back   ProbeTalk.com Forums > General > Knowledge Base > Car Audio And Electronics

Car Audio And Electronics Discussion of Car Audio, Alarms and Other Aftermarket Electronics.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old September 6th, 2012, 09:34 PM   #1
jimay
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Rockhampton, QLD. AUS 4701
Posts: 207
Aftermarket keyless entry sets off alarm

Hi everyone, I finally got my keyless entry installed, it locks and unlocks the doors as you would expect. The issue is that with the doors closed and pressing lock on the remote the alarm activates but when I unlock with the remote the alarm goes off and I need to use the key.

What do I need to do to have it disable the alarm?
jimay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2012, 09:50 PM   #2
jimay
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Rockhampton, QLD. AUS 4701
Posts: 207
All worked out, I ran a relay off the unlock trigger before the diode and resistor which converts the positive pulse to negative and connected it to the yellow/red wire on the (BLACK not gray) plug at the back of the fuse box.

So.

To hook it all up I connected the fused 12v power to the black/blue wire on the ignition harness.

ground to the black wire in the harness directly below the fuse box under the carpet.
positive lock and unlock wires have a 1n4007 diode, unlock wire also has a 1/2 watt 4700ohm resistor then both wires are joined to the green/black wire in the same harness as the ground wire (below fuse box).

indicator/turn signal wires connect to the green/white wire and green/black wire on the indicator relay box which is just above the bonnet release.
jimay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2012, 10:25 PM   #3
jimay
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Rockhampton, QLD. AUS 4701
Posts: 207
I hope this helps someone, this is for a 94 model Australian Ford Probe, I used info from the forums and a few other American sites so it should work on American/Canadian Probes as well.
Heaps of people mentioned the yellow/red wire on the gray plug at the back of the fuse box, on mine this plug is black like an MX6



I can't remember the AMPS of all the fuses but each of the turn signal flashers have 7.5A
there is also one on the unlock wire before the relay
and one on the main 12V

Last edited by jimay; September 7th, 2012 at 10:48 PM.
jimay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2017, 09:41 AM   #4
DatVash
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: San Diego
Posts: 18
I just wanted to clarify, this is how you bypass and disable to stock alarm from going off from an aftermarket system on the car?
DatVash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2017, 02:23 PM   #5
Silverprobe
PT Know it All
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Shawnee Nat'l Forest
Posts: 4,369
Saw this post also. Did your installer say they'd synced the Viper key fobs to the factory ones? Maybe the Viper fobs aren't sending the correct wireless signal?
Silverprobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ProbeTalk.com is not affiliated in any way with the Ford Motor Company, the Mazda Motor Corporation, or any subsidiaries of either company.
All views and opinions expressed on this message board are those of the author and not the owners of ProbeTalk.com.