Advertise with ProbeTalk - click here to find out how!



Advertise with ProbeTalk - click here to find out how!
Advertise with ProbeTalk - click here to find out how!

ProbeTalk.com Forums

Go Back   ProbeTalk.com Forums > Tech Section > 2nd Gen (93-97) V6 2.5L

2nd Gen (93-97) V6 2.5L Discussion of Maint Issues for V6

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old April 21st, 2001, 10:56 AM   #1
js_41
Jr. Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 118
I've had some idling & firing probs, and done some work lately (new disty, vac hoses, plugs & wires, VCG's, etc) - now that I'm finished, I'm having trouble adjusting the Idle & TPS.

- Started out with a really low idle (~300 rpm), idle screw did nada.
- Adjusted TPS, got the idle up around 700-800.
- It's still a little bouncy, but the problem is the A/C - when the compressor is on, the idle drops back down to ~300. Before I adjusted the TPS, turning on the A/C would push the rpms up from ~300 to ~500.

I've been toying with the TPS, but I can't seem to get the rpms above 300 when the A/C is on. Things are fine with A/C off.

Ideas?

-js
js_41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2001, 11:37 AM   #2
Black93GT
Turbo Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: One wheel up.
Posts: 1,800
adjust everything to where it should be. Then troubleshoot from there, close the idle screw. your IaC may have gone TU, or something may be obstructing the idle air passageway.
__________________
RIP: Electric Blue '95 GT ZE RIP: Black '93 GT
Currently rollin' 7.3L of TURBO POWA!!!!
Black93GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2001, 06:11 PM   #3
Rick_96PGT
Official PT DOM!
 
Rick_96PGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Phoenix AZ
Age: 56
Posts: 22,225
There is a wire connector under the TB that controls the IAC...If this is not plugged in completely the idle will not increase when the AC pump is actuated....

Happened to me...I thought it was plugged in nice and tight...but it wasnt...gave it a little extra push and presto..problem solved...
__________________
Rick_96PGT #62
"I never apologize.
I'm sorry, but that's just the way I am."
- Homer J. Simpson
Rick_96PGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2001, 09:45 PM   #4
js_41
Jr. Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 118
I know, you wanted to hear more about my relentless idle problems...

Latest with the TPS:
Adjusting the TPS via the TEN/GND jumper & cooling fan technique gives me a really low idle (~200). Overturning it a bit (counter-clockwise) will get the idle up to a more reasonable level. However this only works with the engine warm.

Question: Could this be a sign of a failing TPS? Or should I spend another week vacuum leak chasing?

Or if you want to give a more thorough answer - What _exactly_ does the ECU do with TPS data? Is it simply used in conjunction with the VAF data to determine how much fuel to send, or are they used seperately?

Thanks for the info so far, checked out the IAC harness & no luck.

-johnny




js_41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2001, 09:55 PM   #5
HowLeTT
Donating Member
 
HowLeTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 16,531
hm, did you try adjusting the TPS to where its supposed to idle at 650 (but idles at 200) and just turning the idle adjustment screw up so its at 650 at that point?
__________________
1993 Ford Probe GT - KLDE + N2O
228 whp 241 wtq - 2340 lb race weight
ATX - 13.44@105.1 MTX - 13.35@106.1
HowLeTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2001, 10:02 PM   #6
js_41
Jr. Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 118

Yes, with the TPS adjusted properly, the idle screw has no effect. Strangely, with the TPS overturned (as I mentioned) the idle screw does as it should. Hmmm thinking about it that way makes a case for a bad TPS...

-johnny
js_41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23rd, 2001, 01:36 AM   #7
94silverpgt
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 225
js, dude i feel your pain. i'm having a heck of a time trying to adjust my tps with cooling fan trick. i'm convinced that this trick doesn't work for my car for whatever the reason. don't give up though, read up on julians method on his website using a voltmeter. this is actually the proper way of adjusting the tps anyway.
http://www.bradbury.cwc.net/probemx/index.htm
94silverpgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ProbeTalk.com is not affiliated in any way with the Ford Motor Company, the Mazda Motor Corporation, or any subsidiaries of either company.
All views and opinions expressed on this message board are those of the author and not the owners of ProbeTalk.com.