Advertise with ProbeTalk - click here to find out how!



Advertise with ProbeTalk - click here to find out how!
Advertise with ProbeTalk - click here to find out how!

ProbeTalk.com Forums

Go Back   ProbeTalk.com Forums > Tech Section > 2nd Gen (93-97) V6 2.5L

2nd Gen (93-97) V6 2.5L Discussion of Maint Issues for V6

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old October 18th, 2004, 08:56 AM   #1
timr467
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7
Angry Help, My tail lights, dash lights, and park lights dont work

I have a 97 probe that I receantly purchased. The only lights that are come on when I turn on my lights is the head lights.

The tail lights, park lights, fog lights, and dash lights are not working. Anyone have any ideas how to fix this problem?
timr467 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2004, 10:39 AM   #2
bato_yu
Jr. Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: MI
Age: 31
Posts: 136
damn bro sorry totell you but you probably fried a ground wire somehow and it melted with other ones . This hapened to me when I was installing neons and extracting power from the lighter. and through my carelesnes i conected the ground with the power suply for only a few seconds and the ground wire burned all the way to the main harness and then i realized that my dash or tail end lights didn't work. i had to take the radio and ac console out and follow the wire all the way back and replace.
Took about 3 hours. GOOD LUCK
bato_yu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2004, 12:17 PM   #3
fekinfast_gt
Slow Learner
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Denver Pennsylvania
Age: 32
Posts: 31
Arrow

mayb u should try checking all the fuses the cover over the fuse case inside yer car and under your hood both have a diagram telling u what fuse does what check the brake lioghts or check all the fuses make sure there not blown
__________________
Oni-Roh

PGT deep

fekin fast probe
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
fekinfast_gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2004, 02:32 PM   #4
jordanmc31
PT Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 762
Could be condensation getting into the light sockets.
jordanmc31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2004, 03:27 PM   #5
95gt4me
Search Impaired
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: pa
Posts: 83
i had this problem before. i remember it was a fuse. dont remember where though.
95gt4me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2004, 05:16 PM   #6
punkerx86
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8
its fuse number 11 i believe, but hey if i'm having that problem but it keeps blowing the fuses when i replace them and i've tried putting in bigger amped ones and they blow too is it a bad ground connection?
punkerx86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2004, 05:19 PM   #7
Project GT
Balls Across The Nose
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,493
man see all my shit work except my gauge lights...i'm stuck on that one
Project GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2004, 07:04 PM   #8
ouch1011
Donating Member
 
ouch1011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: ProbesNW.com
Posts: 17,298
Quote:
Originally Posted by punkerx86
its fuse number 11 i believe, but hey if i'm having that problem but it keeps blowing the fuses when i replace them and i've tried putting in bigger amped ones and they blow too is it a bad ground connection?
Fuses blow when excess current is running through them, meaning that one of the wires is shorting to ground. Not fun stuff, as it involves tracing the wiring through the car, looking for wires with broken insulation.... DO NOT put a higher rating fuse in there, or anything else to replace the fuse, as that is a textbook way to start a fire.

To the original poster, your problem is a fuse. All those lights are operated off the same fuse. I can't remember which one, unfortunately, and I don't want to dig up my owners manual to find out
__________________
Kevin B - Former Probe-owner

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


ouch1011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2004, 09:38 AM   #9
timr467
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7
I got them to work. I had a wire off at the switch in the turnsignal.
timr467 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ProbeTalk.com is not affiliated in any way with the Ford Motor Company, the Mazda Motor Corporation, or any subsidiaries of either company.
All views and opinions expressed on this message board are those of the author and not the owners of ProbeTalk.com.