Still leaking oil after changing VC gasket

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Still leaking oil after changing VC gasket

Because oil was leaking, I changed the left valve cover gasket. However, now I find more oil leaking than before. Here's what I did in the process of replacing the gasket:

1. Properly cleaned the mating surfaces of oil and old sealant.
    2. Fitted the gasket properly in the groves of the cover.
    3. Applied new sealant in all the corners, as indicated in Haynes manual.
    4. Closed up the cover -- I didn't have a torque wrench, but I screwed the bolts neither too tightly nor too loosely.

Any suggestions as to what I should do to prevent the oil leak? Should I be applying the sealant all along the edges rather than just the corners?

I am a novice as far as car repair is concerned and would appreciate any help.

Thank you.
    Troy.

where is it leaking oil at? in the plug wells or around the edge? Did you put the isolators back on?

The only thing I can think of that may be the problem is perhaps your cracked your valve cover itself. The only reason i say this is because I cracked mine and didn't even know it. I changed the gasket and didn't have a torque wrench so I tightened them down to where i thought they sould be. I noticed an oil leak and would tighten the bolt a little more and more. Last week I finally took off the cover and a large chunk around where the bolt goes it simply fell off- it cracked somehow and I have no idea how. I got a new one at a yard and now no more oil leaks.
    '04 Silver Mazda3s Hatch... not really stock
    '89 Blue Jeep Cherokee 4x4....yea this isn't stock either
    '46 Gray Pontiac Coupe.. this one is very stock
    '02 Red/Black Honda CBR 600 F4i... some go fast goodies

Comment