Advertise with ProbeTalk - click here to find out how!



Advertise with ProbeTalk - click here to find out how!
Advertise with ProbeTalk - click here to find out how!

ProbeTalk.com Forums

Go Back   ProbeTalk.com Forums > Tech Section > 2nd Gen (93-97) V6 2.5L

2nd Gen (93-97) V6 2.5L Discussion of Maint Issues for V6

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old July 21st, 2014, 06:57 AM   #1
DougieFBabY
PT Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brick nj
Posts: 509
94 gt maf swapped map sensor

ecu i am told is a 97 millie
car has a hard time starting, everytime i have to give it gas to start and then hold an idle
my buddy came over with this super expensive snap on obd 2 scanner, hooked it up
He said i need the map sensor, the ecu thinks it is below seal level and thats why she is starting like that
something about the start up f/a mixture is wrong and car cant adjust it without map sensor
he siad the ecu must have come from somewhere below sea level to be stuck like that
Anybody heard of this, is it even possible?? it does sound possible.
if i swap back to vaf and stock ecu, she starts right up, no problems, no gas pedal needed
ALso does anyone have a part # for the map sensor. Rock auto dont show one and napa dont see it in there system???
DougieFBabY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2014, 01:19 PM   #2
DougieFBabY
PT Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brick nj
Posts: 509
Anybody? Has anyone ever encountered same problem wit their Maf swapped probe? Could
DougieFBabY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2014, 08:09 PM   #3
godfrey96
Slow Learner
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: northeast ga
Posts: 49
Jea7.. Also used on ford aspire
godfrey96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2014, 11:35 PM   #4
SBPGT
Five Star Member
 
SBPGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Tempe, AZ
Age: 46
Posts: 3,635
Maybe you have the MAF wires hooked up wrong?

I think someone pasted the MAF swap write-up was showing the wiring from the connector not the MAF?
__________________
Currently buying all my parts for my future part-out thread...
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
STEVE B

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2002 Mazda 626 ES

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

SBPGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2014, 02:17 AM   #5
MikaNL
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: the Netherlands
Age: 33
Posts: 162
Is there even a manifold absolute pressure sensor? I thought these ecu's do all the calculations by using mass airflow combined with temperature?

Anyhow, resetting the ECU should remove any previous settings. If there's still something wrong then yes, sensor replacement time (or wire check time as SBPGT suggested)
MikaNL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2014, 04:18 AM   #6
DougieFBabY
PT Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brick nj
Posts: 509
It is wired up properly. Car drives fine, pulls past four grand. Is there another way to reset it?, besides disconnecting the battery.

---------- Post added at 03:15 AM ---------- Previous post was at 03:10 AM ----------

From what I know the map sensor is on the Milenias so when you Maf swap a probe you don't have the map unless you install it

---------- Post added at 03:18 AM ---------- Previous post was at 03:15 AM ----------

Yes there is a map sensor it is a three wire sensor that has a vacum line that has to be hooked up to a vacuum on the manifold, my buddy found it on rock auto, I was looking under wrong section. It is under air slash fuel on rockauto
DougieFBabY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2014, 04:49 AM   #7
dammitcam
Donating User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Not So Pure Michigan
Age: 25
Posts: 498
someone needs to talk to skippy
__________________
1995 Probe GT. Colt 218* cams, Tein SS Coilovers with EDFC, K6F trailing arms, CZT traction bars, ZE Intake Manifold, Milly MAF/OBDII swap, GReddy SP1, Probe Addiction Strut braces, RX8 Seats, PRD STS, PRD door sills, ACT 6puck
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
, MFactory LSD,Built trans, Euro tails and corners, Walbro 255, and more to come
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Stage 3 Audi S4 pushing about 425awhp
dammitcam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2014, 09:50 AM   #8
DougieFBabY
PT Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brick nj
Posts: 509
Dammitcam ?????? Skippy what, who, when, where, and how!?!?!?
DougieFBabY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2014, 12:36 PM   #9
MonoxideChild
POC Mod
 
MonoxideChild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Rockford, IL.
Age: 37
Posts: 17,227
It throws a MAP code as the Milly uses a 4 wire i believe compared to our car which has a 3 wire. But it still runs just fine without any issues just running our stock one. It just tosses a code. But thats not your issue. Well unless your original stock Map might be faulty. Im betting your wiring is wrong, or you have a vac leak.
__________________
PaTricK

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
~ 92 PGT, 97 KL MTX 626, 05 Mazda6, 13 Mazda CX9, 09 Kia Sportage 4x4 v6 ~
MonoxideChild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24th, 2014, 08:18 AM   #10
DougieFBabY
PT Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brick nj
Posts: 509
tha car is a 94 obd 1, i do not think it has a map sensor, or it is part of the vaf???(i thought) but vaf does not matter as she is maf swapped, and the maf system does not include the map sensor, it is a seperate of maf stuff.
wiring is correct, i have tripled checked, car runs fines besides the start up issue, and revs past four grand
and there are no vacuum lines, all are deleted and sensors capped off
only codes i am throwing are for the auto trans
if i swap back to stock ecu and vaf car starts no problems

---------- Post added at 07:15 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:10 AM ----------

i have also tried reseting the ecu, every single way possible:
brake pedal method, undo battery ground, undo battery positive, undo both,unplug ecu from harness, even tried sweet talking and dirty talking and life threating, tried smashing stuff while i had the ecu out of car watching me(LOL), none has helped
i have ordered a map sensor
from my research a 97 mazda millie uses a three wire map sensor,
i will wire this in and see what happens and let you guys know

---------- Post added at 07:18 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:15 AM ----------

heres my thoughts right.
if map sensor helps wit fuel air mixture at start up,
my boy says it is flooding the car wit fuel,
if the ecu came from a place below sea level, then reseting the ecu will just reset it back to below sea level, NO!!!????
without the map sensor to tell it to adjust, then it will always start up and say ,
"oh im below sea level"
right or no???!!??
DougieFBabY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24th, 2014, 12:08 PM   #11
MikaNL
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: the Netherlands
Age: 33
Posts: 162
No... ECU's are configured using settings so they can function in a wide variety of environments with a wide variety of possible fuel types. When something is off or when the ECU is first started after clearing all learned settings it will default to a safe map and will start learning from there what the optimal settings are. I've never ever heard of altitude being an issue after clearing ECU settings.

What does influence fuel air mixture at startup is your fuel pressure solenoid. However that one should throw a code if it's faulty. You could try bypassing it. Also check if your idle air screw and TPS sensor are setup correctly. However I'm betting on incorrect wiring being the issue after all.

Mind you this link is FS only but I can't imagine the principle being much different from the KL:
http://mazda626.net/topic/41670-meet...lator-control/

Last edited by MikaNL; July 24th, 2014 at 12:32 PM.
MikaNL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2014, 10:03 AM   #12
DougieFBabY
PT Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brick nj
Posts: 509
fuel pressure solenoid is good, no code. tried by passing, same thing happens. idle screw and tps are set perfectly, i have recheck those so many times i have nightmares about it LOL
also for the thrid time in this post WIRING IS CORRECT
car rides fine besides the start up, and revs past four grand
i also have nightmares about this wiring because i have checked it 9000 times LOL
again if i swap back to xtreme things ecu or stock ecu wit vaf, she fires right up
DougieFBabY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2014, 10:11 AM   #13
DougieFBabY
PT Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brick nj
Posts: 509
when i switch back to vaf and she fires right up, its amking me think problem is the ecu or in the adpater harness, if it was in the car side of the harness, problem would always be there
this problem only occurs wit maf swap
DougieFBabY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2014, 11:29 AM   #14
gudziunas
Donating Member
 
gudziunas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: France FR
Age: 31
Posts: 49
could you please open up the milly ecu and take a good quality close up photo of the inside content, then i'll be able to tell if you have a BARO sensor
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- done & rolling

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- SOLD
gudziunas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2014, 03:35 PM   #15
pile_of_rd1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Rockford IL
Age: 29
Posts: 2,515
Did you purchase your kit from me? If need be, you can send me your components of the MAF swap kit and I can test it all for you and let you know what the deal is on my test car.

BTW Im the Skippy that Cam is talkin about lol
__________________
1992 Mazda MX-3 GS - KLG4 Turbo

Scott
pile_of_rd1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2014, 11:23 PM   #16
MikaNL
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: the Netherlands
Age: 33
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougieFBabY View Post
when i switch back to vaf and she fires right up, its amking me think problem is the ecu or in the adpater harness, if it was in the car side of the harness, problem would always be there
this problem only occurs wit maf swap
Adapter harness is also wiring which you kept stating is good because you checked and doublechecked it.........
MikaNL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2014, 08:23 AM   #17
DougieFBabY
PT Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brick nj
Posts: 509
I never checked adapter harness because she ran fine for months. This started happening out of the blue!! Now to make matters worse I can't even time the car from disty. Wit Maf installed and I put car in diag mode to try and set timing. Idle jumps from 700 to a 1000 then back down to 700 then back up. Car is def in diag mode cause I can do tps fan trick. In diag mode timing just does what it wants. I don't get it !!!! Lol

---------- Post added at 07:20 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:18 AM ----------

If I set timing wit stock ecu car rides perfect but then when I swap back timing has changed and car bucks and I can feel timing like catch and go then buck and like catch itself

---------- Post added at 07:23 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:20 AM ----------

Pile of road yes I got adapter harness from you but I got ecu from my boy Cody and it turns out he got the ecu from you lol
DougieFBabY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2014, 08:35 AM   #18
DougieFBabY
PT Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brick nj
Posts: 509
Pile of road can u pm me address please I would like to send back so you can look at it please sir. It's got me so heated. Car ran amazing besides the start up issue. And Maf is def. quicker then stock setup.

---------- Post added at 07:34 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:29 AM ----------

I also checked timing on the belt and she is dead on. I have been over the whole motor wit starting fluid, no leaks , and i checked at all different rpm ranges,disty and crank sensor are brand new out of the box, no vac leaks, there is only one vac line from manifold to fuel regulator, line is good

---------- Post added at 07:35 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:34 AM ----------

This is driving crazy car rode awesome then I took motor out and did converted rack to Manual, put motor back in and boom now these problems lol
DougieFBabY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2014, 11:34 AM   #19
branscoset
Donating User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: WASHINGTON STATE
Posts: 1,354
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougieFBabY View Post
This is driving crazy car rode awesome then I took motor out and did converted rack to Manual, put motor back in and boom now these problems lol
I doubt the harness is the problem, if it worked until you pulled the motor and put it back in. Sounds like something is either not connected or a broken wire. Possibly a grounding issue.

Would be interesting to see if the Maf swap and adapter an all work on another probe, or do the same thing. That would be the easiest way for me to test it. Then if that works, you aren't wasting Pile or your time sending it back and having him look it over.

Jus my 2cents.
__________________
I've Been Probed.
branscoset is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2014, 04:31 AM   #20
DougieFBabY
PT Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brick nj
Posts: 509
Another problem is that I do not know anyone wit a 94 probe or a 93. Everyone I know has a 96 or 97
DougieFBabY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2014, 05:35 AM   #21
Bergz0
Supercharged Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: nj
Posts: 1,241
i has a 95
Bergz0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2014, 10:34 AM   #22
DougieFBabY
PT Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brick nj
Posts: 509
you live far away my dude lol, but at this point i might have to make a trip up there on the weekend and fiddle wit the car, so someone else can see this crap and reassure me that its,
"not just me"
DougieFBabY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2014, 10:52 AM   #23
Bergz0
Supercharged Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: nj
Posts: 1,241
Yea man. Only an hour and a half give or take
Bergz0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2014, 11:55 AM   #24
94blckpgt
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Parkton NC
Posts: 250
That swap was awesome when I had it.. one day ill get another.. just gotta get this damn car started first. .
__________________
97 gt rio red gt...full kl31 ZE swap...2.5" mandrel bent exhaust...SSAC headers...sts...CAI...pheno spacers. ..SS clutch and brake lines...aeromotive fpr...AEM wideband...mx3 flywheel...ACT 6 puck clutch...tokico illuminas...eibach ground control coilovers........
94blckpgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2017, 02:31 PM   #25
Pieterprobe
Search Impaired
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands
Posts: 90
Sorry for bumping an old thread but did you ever figure out what your issue was?
__________________
-Red 1993 16v Probe in Aruba, unable to be saved but shall rust in peace.
-Silver 1993 24v Probe in The Netherlands, big project to make it perfect.
Pieterprobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
R32 swapped GTI vs 323 DeeAOne Kill Stories 30 July 25th, 2011 09:40 AM
swapped reflectors * update Swapped tails too* KM_heisler Probe Pic & Video Post 21 July 15th, 2006 02:00 PM
Swapped Engine... EGR and Water Temp Sensor's different? L-ucky-S-ix 2nd Gen (93-97) V6 2.5L 9 October 9th, 2005 09:13 AM
Who swapped the crank sensor sprocket to the UR pulley? PSE driver 2nd Gen (93-97) I4 2.0L Performance 3 May 1st, 2003 05:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ProbeTalk.com is not affiliated in any way with the Ford Motor Company, the Mazda Motor Corporation, or any subsidiaries of either company.
All views and opinions expressed on this message board are those of the author and not the owners of ProbeTalk.com.