Advertise with ProbeTalk - click here to find out how!



Advertise with ProbeTalk - click here to find out how!
Advertise with ProbeTalk - click here to find out how!

ProbeTalk.com Forums

Go Back   ProbeTalk.com Forums > Tech Section > 2nd Gen (93-97) V6 2.5L

2nd Gen (93-97) V6 2.5L Discussion of Maint Issues for V6

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old July 22nd, 2017, 10:16 AM   #1
klzeprobe
Jr. Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 141
How to check cam sensor wiring

It's a 95 pgtze not starting. No spark.

I've got code 03 which the cam sensor. I have a brand new distributor in it. I just want to know how to test the wiring to make sure it's good. Can someone explain that to me? I can't find anything in the search.

Thanks.
__________________
95 pgtze RIP
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

93 pgtze the powerplant of my 95 lives on.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

94 pgtze-t Work in progress.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

95 pgtze DD
63 Pontiac Catalina 389cid stock except for MSD
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
klzeprobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2017, 10:45 PM   #2
BLUEnoEQ
Turbo Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,977
Okay, so there's 2 things 93-94 used a cam sensor. 95 didn't use the same cam sensor. There may be a Blue and a Green wire on the distributor that gets the crank pos sensor run through it to pick up a pulse from the cam sensor that is in there. If that wire wasn't good you'd have a crank sensor code though? Maybe someone else can explain it better. Worst case I can look at mine tomorrow in the light.
__________________
Probe out for Harambe
94 PGT KLZE
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BLUEnoEQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2017, 09:18 AM   #3
klzeprobe
Jr. Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 141
Is there a way to test the wire for continuity with a basic multimeter? Just trying to figure out if it's the wiring or if I got a faulty reman disty.
__________________
95 pgtze RIP
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

93 pgtze the powerplant of my 95 lives on.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

94 pgtze-t Work in progress.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

95 pgtze DD
63 Pontiac Catalina 389cid stock except for MSD
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
klzeprobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2017, 01:38 PM   #4
BLUEnoEQ
Turbo Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,977
The crank sensor signal goes through those wires, so if you don't have a crank sensor code the wires should be good. You can get it to run on a 94 disty if you have one... with some wire swapping. If it works then you know that's the problem. Run it on the 94 disty til you get the new part.
__________________
Probe out for Harambe
94 PGT KLZE
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BLUEnoEQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2017, 06:14 PM   #5
klzeprobe
Jr. Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 141
So I have checked the wires. The three plug has a wire with 12v and the 5pin plug has a 5v and a 12v. Disty is brand new reman. Still no spark. What am I missing?
__________________
95 pgtze RIP
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

93 pgtze the powerplant of my 95 lives on.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

94 pgtze-t Work in progress.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

95 pgtze DD
63 Pontiac Catalina 389cid stock except for MSD
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
klzeprobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2017, 11:48 PM   #6
BLUEnoEQ
Turbo Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,977
I've gotten bad reman distributors before. I'd say bring it back to the store you got it from and exchange for a new one.
__________________
Probe out for Harambe
94 PGT KLZE
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BLUEnoEQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2017, 02:27 AM   #7
Whitefinish
Supercharged Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SanDiego & Netherlands
Age: 31
Posts: 1,189
Check the relay next to your ecu.
Those are faulty sometimes and also cause no spark.
__________________
Mazda Mx3- Panther black, Kosei 18", custom hood, cleaned, new pakfeifer front, customized pakfeifer rear

KLZE highcompression, Pippercros Viper intake, kl31cams, MS1 v3, Aasco fly, CM st3 clutch, cai, ss headers, ground wirekit, srd bushings, msd window switches, nitrous
Whitefinish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2017, 05:14 AM   #8
klzeprobe
Jr. Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 141
Which relay is that? I didn't know there was a relay by the ecu. I'll check that and if that doesn't work then exchange the disty.
__________________
95 pgtze RIP
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

93 pgtze the powerplant of my 95 lives on.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

94 pgtze-t Work in progress.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

95 pgtze DD
63 Pontiac Catalina 389cid stock except for MSD
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
klzeprobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2017, 12:36 PM   #9
klzeprobe
Jr. Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 141
So I ran the tests in the THIRD picture down here: https://mazda626.net/topic/45372-ple...lp-95-hei-mod/. PIN number 2 on the small plug failed. No flicker. Am I supposed to leave the plug installed. I did it unplugged for all tests and everything passed except pin 2.

What should I do?
__________________
95 pgtze RIP
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

93 pgtze the powerplant of my 95 lives on.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

94 pgtze-t Work in progress.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

95 pgtze DD
63 Pontiac Catalina 389cid stock except for MSD
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by klzeprobe; August 5th, 2017 at 12:37 PM.
klzeprobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wtb: KLG4 cam sensor and cam wheel polarexpress17 Wanted 5 September 17th, 2011 06:43 PM
MIlenia KJ Cam Sensor wiring diagram ausloki Engine Electronics 10 September 13th, 2010 03:43 AM
Cam position sensor check speedklz 1st Gen (89-92) All 0 July 29th, 2008 06:25 PM
Cam Angle Sensor (aka disty crank angle sensor) tehbrookzorz 2nd Gen (93-97) V6 2.5L 1 May 7th, 2006 02:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ProbeTalk.com is not affiliated in any way with the Ford Motor Company, the Mazda Motor Corporation, or any subsidiaries of either company.
All views and opinions expressed on this message board are those of the author and not the owners of ProbeTalk.com.