acceleration and stalling problems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• acceleration and stalling problems

Ok, so I'm an intermediate noob. not totally new to cars, but new to this sort of problem.

my probe is having problems off the start, typically i have to rev up to 3k rpm to be able to start with enough momentum to get the car rolling. if i shift smoothly into first, i can floor the gas with clutch out and the car will accelerate deathly slow, as in barely move at all. when this happens it takes almost 10 seconds to reach 2k rpm and once i hit that theres usually a loud BANG and the car begins to pull normally. so at over 2.5-3k the car runs fine.

the guy i bought it from said he was told it was a vacuum problem, which to me sounds like it could be it, but then the second problem that goes along with all this is a strong smell of gasoline and a rapid drop in fuel level. as i was driving it home it showed a quarter tank of gas left and by the time i drove 5 miles the level was halved. i stopped at a gas station and checked the engine as best i could and did not see any leaks, but then again it was 10pm and the lights at the station only lit up so much… the last thing i noticed, is that when im waiting at a light, the car begins to vibrate a lot.

so this is my problem, idk if they're all related, but if any one can help id appreciate it. if your going to talk trash, at least make it funny so i can laugh too.

Sounds to me like too much fuel is being sent to the motor and is pooling up somewhere. When you hear the bang is when all that fuel gets ignited.